Don’t Touch the Rock

(Names have been changed)

One of the preschool boys walks to me crying, holding his head.  I immediately ask, “What’s going on?”

He said, through his tears, “I got hit in the head with a rock.”

I looked across the playground to see Sam sitting on the bench, looking guilty.

I yelled, “Sam, come here.”

He crossed his arms and gave me the death glare, yelling, “I’m already in a time out.”

I yelled again, “Sam, come here.”

His glare intensifies, “I said, I’m already in a time out!”

I said, “I know, come here.”

He slides off the bench, walking to me, his head low.  When he gets close, I asked, “What happened?”

He said, “A rock accidentally slipped out of my hand.  I was in a time out.”

I nodded, “I don’t think it accidentally slipped out, I think you threw it and you know throwing rocks is not okay.  You’re not even supposed to pick them up.”

He nodded, his arms crossed, “That’s why I was in a time out.”

I nodded and pointed to the bench close to me, “You need to tell Tyler you’re sorry and then go sit on the bench.”

As he walked to the bench and climbed up he glared back at me, crossed his arms and said, “I was already in a time out.”

What a precious boy.  He knew the rules, no picking up rocks.  He saw it, he touched it, he picked it up, he threw it, and when he did, he knew it was wrong and immediately put himself in a time out.

This has been going on since the beginning of time.  Adam and Eve in the garden.  Walking with God and told to not eat from the tree in the middle of the garden, don’t even touch it.  They were deceived, Eve touched, then ate, then gave to Adam who also ate.  When God came, they hid, their own time out.  God knew they had sinned.  They knew they had sinned.

How many times do we do the same thing?  We go to the place we shouldn’t, say the thing we shouldn’t, do the thing we shouldn’t.  We may try to stop it, blame it on the flesh or the devil, but guess what?  The rock never accidentally slipped.  The rock should have never been touched.  But once you touch it, it’s easy to let it “slip”.

But when we do pick up the rock and accidentally throw it, we have to get to our knees immediately, asking for forgiveness.  Let’s not make God come looking for us, let’s put ourselves in a time out.  Better yet, lets get in the mindset to never touch the rock in the first place

Submit yourselves, then, to God.  Resist the devil and he will flee from you.  James 4:7

Leave a Reply

