Fire In The Rain

His word is in my heart like a fire burning up in my bones.  I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.  (Jeremiah 20:9  NIV)

I was driving down a street to our house on a dark, stormy Midwest day.  The rain was coming down so hard that my windshield wipers, set on fast mode, couldn’t keep up.  It beat loudly against the car, drowning out the radio.

I saw what looked like huge flames billowing up from the ground.  I stopped, turned the car around and went back to investigate, but saw nothing.

I shrugged my shoulders, wondering how I could see anything because the visibility was close to nothing.  Turning back around I headed home when I swore I saw flames, again.  I stopped and pulled over.  As I stared through the pouring rain, sure enough, there was a huge fire.  I drove closer.  I was utterly amazed.

I saw a large container that had a huge fire, shooting large flames up into the sky, all the while the rain pouring, I mean, pouring, down upon it.  I sat for a few minutes wondering how in the world this fire could continue to burn in such a torrential downpour.

When I got home, I called the company and a gentleman explained to me that the company recycles wood and pallets.  He said they tear apart the clean wood that can be recycled then take the other wood and stick it into this thing called an air curtain pit burner.

He went on to explain that they start with a small fire, the wood similar to kindling.  After the small fire is going they turn the blower on which helps the wood to become very hot, around 2000 degrees hot.

I’ve never seen the fire on a sunny day but to my amazement, I saw it the first time when it was pouring down rain, visibility near to nothing.  I asked the guy about this and he explained that the fire in the pit is almost always burning but it is so hot that it is immediately vaporized.  Because of this vaporization, you can see the light from the fire the best on the dark, drizzly or rainy days.

Jesus said we are the light of the world. When is the best time to see a light?  Is it when the sun is shining or when it’s dark?  Christ is seen predominately by those around us when our world is dark and drizzly, when the rain is pouring down so hard that you can’t see two feet in front of you.

If you feel like you’re in a fire pit and the blowers are on, trust Jesus, He is reforming you to do great and mighty things for Him.  And if the day is dark and drizzly, know that this is when His fire shines the brightest.

Leave a Reply

