The Rock

I stood on the playground today at the preschool with some of the 4 years olds soaking in the beautiful sun.  I watched one of the boys pick up a rock the size of his hand and throw it.

I yelled, “Zeke.” (name changed)

I didn’t have to say anything else because he knew he had done something wrong.

He walked towards me and I said, “You need to go sit in a time out.  You know we don’t ever throw rocks.”

He went and sat down, his eyes turning red, trying not to cry.  I found it unusual that he didn’t immediately try and explain his actions or blame someone else.  He just held in the tears and sat.

After a couple of minutes he said, “Well he,” pointing, “did something way worser then what I did.”

With a firm face, another teacher said, “We will talk to him about what he did, this is about what you did.”

His little lips pursed together, his arms crossed and he sat, holding back the tears.

When his time was up, I turned to him and said, “You may get up now but remember, we don’t throw rocks because they could really hurt someone.”

He jumped up and immediately ran to the area where he had thrown the rock and started looking around in the grass.  I watched him.  It appeared to me that he was looking for the rock he threw.  Hmmm, I wondered how this was going to play out.

After searching for a while, his eyes widened, he bent down and picked up the rock.  I continued to watch him, wondering what he was going to do.  He held it tightly in his hand, walked to the chain link fence, pried the rock through the links in the fence, dropping it on the other side where here couldn’t get it.

The rock must’ve been so tempting that he had to get it out of his reach, out of his sight, on the other side of the fence where there was no way he could even touch it.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve picked up a rock and thrown it through the air.  As I go to my time out, I don’t want to face my own sin so I point fingers and remind God that others have done way worser things then me.  Sometimes, I get it and change but sometimes I get up from my time out and walk right back to the same rock, falling back into the same sin.

Maybe we need to do what Zeke did and throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles us. (Hebrews 12:1)  We may grip it tightly as we walk to the fence but let’s not be afraid to drop it over, get it out of our reach, even completely out of our sight, so that we can fix our eyes on Jesus.

Leave a Reply

