Follow the Ambulance

I worked today feeling a bit overwhelmed with little stuff that had to get done.  I was thankful to get it all done but I was running about 2 hours behind.  It was an ordinary day and I wanted to see Jesus.

I went to visit a man who had a stoke a few weeks ago.  I really feel a connection to him because my grandfather had a stroke and came to live with us when I was young.  My grandfather couldn’t speak and could walk with some help.  I can feel and understand what this man is going through since I’d lived it before.

What’s kinda funny is that almost every time I visit him, he’s been moved to another room so when I walked into his room today, I don’t why I was surprised to find he wasn’t there.  I asked the front desk and they said he’d been moved to another facility.

I sighed, “Okay Jesus, I’d like to see you here, anytime.”

I found out where he was and I wasn’t quite sure how to get there.  Yes, I have modern technology, my iPhone with maps, and I got the general area but wasn’t really sure where in this neighborhood which building I needed to go to and maps wasn’t helping.  When I left the hospital an ambulance was ahead of me, driving at normal speeds.

I laughed and said aloud, “Hey God, maybe I could follow the ambulance, maybe it’s going where I am.”  It was a hint, I wanted to see Jesus.

When I put my blinker on to get off on the next exit, the ambulance did, also.  I laughed and said out loud, “I think I am going to follow the ambulance.”

Funny thing about God. He can change an ordinary day into something special so quickly and effortlessly.  I decided I was going to follow the ambulance and see where it took me.  What could it hurt?  I was already two hours behind schedule, what was a few more minutes?

I pulled into the parking lot behind the ambulance, parked and went inside.  I told the receptionist I didn’t even know if I was in the right place.  She assured me I was and pointed me to his room.  I was almost giddy by then but when I went into his room he was sleeping and his wife wasn’t there.  His bed was really low to the ground and the chairs were all full of stuff so I knelt on the ground and thought, “I’ll just stay with him for a while, pray for him, watch the tv that was blaring.”  He woke up a few times, I talked to him but he went right back to sleep so I didn’t even think he knew I was there.

After about fifteen minutes I wrote a note for his wife, knelt back down and waited.

I finally asked God, “Should I stay or should I go?  I’m really not doing any good, he’s sleeping.  He probably doesn’t even know I’m here.”

About that time he reached out, grabbed my hand and held it.  He looked at me then fell right back asleep.  I smiled.  It was not only him showing me he knew I was there but God showing me that He knew I was there.  God letting me see Him on an ordinary day.

Ask Him to show Himself, He will.

Leave a Reply

