A Slap in the Face

I was at my last day of kids camp.  I had a great group of sponsors, a great group of kids only it was 100 degrees and I don’t do well in the heat.  At camp, we do a lot of the same rotations for every year, so having been there for two other sessions, I knew exactly what was coming.

We were doing this really great food packaging for the hungry.  It was cool.  A total blessing for those receiving it and those packaging it.

As I walked around taking pictures of the kids working, I noticed a gal that was working hard to let the kids help but it was throwing her way behind.  I slid my camera in my pocket and walked up to her and said, “Do you want some help?”

She said, “Do you know how?”

I smiled and said, “Yep.”

I sealed my first bag and she said, “You didn’t do it right.”

Now I’m not usually one to argue but I was hot and sweaty and I did know what I was doing but since I was crabby I said, in very unChristlike way, “Nope, I don’t know what I’m doing.  I was only trained by the guy who runs this and did it for a week, nope, I don’t know what I’m doing.”

Then I made a wise choice.  No, I didn’t apologize, I walked away.  I knew I shouldn’t have said what I did, I shouldn’t have snapped, I should’ve apologized but I didn’t.  I stepped back, got my camera out and started taking more pictures, breathing deeply to make my anger go away and remember why I was here.  I was here for Jesus and the kids.

One of the mom’s walked up to me and leaned in, she said, “You are so patient and I can tell you really love these kids.”

“What?” I said as I pictured God sitting on his throne, with a bit of sarcasm, said, “Yes, Dana, you are soooo patient,” and then a deep eye roll.

It was a slap in the face. God telling me that regardless of our excuses of “being human” or “we all have our moments” we are an example to others.  We are an example to those who are nice to us and to those who are not.  I felt bad.

I wish I could say I was this spiritual giant and went over and apologized but I didn’t.  Instead, I looked over at this mom and assured her that I wasn’t always patient and that I just about snapped the head off another sponsor.  She didn’t know that through her words, God reminded me that we are always representing Him.

“In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus,” Philippians 2:5 NIV

Leave a Reply

