I See You

I’ve always been the type of person that feels compelled to say hello or smile at people whether I know them or not. It can open the door to really minister to others. I’m also the type of person who wants to grow in Christ so I pray daily for my personal growth but with that prayer comes great opportunities for God to show me my weaknesses.

I was walking through a parking lot the other day with a very spiritual friend. There were a lot of people so I was smiling and saying hi to them as I walked towards the building. Some smiled back, some talked back, and some ignored me. I saw a person sitting in a wheelchair near the door to the building we were going in. I smiled, said hi, and kept walking. My friend was walking a little farther behind me. I turned back to see where my friend was and saw him squatting down talking to the person in the wheelchair.

As I sat inside waiting for my friend, watching him talk to the stranger, I began to ask God what the person in the wheelchair saw in my friend to stop him and talk to him instead of stopping me and talking to me. I said hi to him, I would’ve talked to him. I would’ve liked to have tried to minister to him.

When my friend finally entered the building I asked him, “I said hi to the guy in the wheelchair and you said hi to him so why did he feel comfortable talking to you and not to me? What did he see in you that he didn’t see in me?”

My friend looked at me and said, “It was a lady in a wheelchair not a man.”

It was like being hit with a brick. I did the right thing, I said hi but never really looked at the person and she obviously noticed that.

We walk by hundreds of people every day but I often wonder how many of them we really see them. How many times have you asked someone, “How are you?” never really wanting or having the time to hear the real answer. No wonder everyone walks around pretending everything is going great when their lives are really falling apart.

Are we looking for opportunities to minister or are we going through the motions. Are we so busy with our lives, so caught up in our own world and in our own thoughts that we don’t really look at those around us?

Let’s take the time to look at people and really love on them. I promise, from now on, I will see you!

5 thoughts on “I See You

  1. Reading this took me back to great conversations we used to have! I believe you are always looking to tell anyone about our dear Father. Remember Beth and the long haired man at the airport? Incredible.

    • We did have some GREAT convo’s. Could never forget that airport story! I was telling someone at church just today about you and Jeremiah and Ebed-Melek the Cushite and the padding for mine and Jeremiah’s armpits. 🙂 God is so much FUN!!! Miss you bunches, bestest friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

