Waiting

Waiting. It’s probably one of the hardest things to do. I read a book one time that said it’s all about what you do while you wait that counts. I think about the Miley Cyrus song (yes, I admit to having one of her songs) and it called It’s All About the Climb.

I’m sitting today in the hospital waiting room as my bro-in-law is in open heart surgery. Surgery was scheduled for noon. We got here at 9:30 am. They changed the time to 2:00. We waited then knew we’d wait some more. Then the five hour surgery started.

We are in a private waiting room which limits who we can talk to or visit with but we have family here. We’ve caught up and laughed. We have moments where it goes silent and we are all into our own thoughts and prayers. Wondering if the next news from the surgical assistant will be good news or bad, understanding how quickly all of our lives could change.

I must say, though, I feel very good about the surgery. Maybe that’s my faith in a big God or my own Pollyanna-ness coming out. I’m usually not a Dana Downer so I keep my spirits high and know God is I control.

I’m still “seeing” people and so ready to minister to anyone. I’m in a hospital, I should be able to find lots of people to minister to but it’s funny how God sometimes tells us to be still and know He is God. It seems anyone I come into contract with today is a smile or nod back then nothing. It is God telling me to be still and know He is in control. He wants me to bask in Him, to be ministered by Him, to let Him fill my cup. Today, God wants me to be still in my wait and simply have faith in Him.

When God has you in a place to wait upon Him whether it’s a five hour wait like I have today or a forty year wait like Joshua and Caleb had before they got to go into the Promised Land, be assured, it is about what you do while you wait. And when the words, “Move on,” come out of God’s mouth like they did to Moses, like Moses, we must be ready to go full force with Him.

Martin Luther King Jr. said, “Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the staircase.” It is all about the climb. Take the step.

3 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. My Bro-in-law is closed up and heading back to ICU. All looks good, considering. Thanks for everyone who prayed for it. The wait is over and God is moving us back to the 4th floor to see him, only a simple peek through the glass for tonight but I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

