Got Love?

I drove through a fast food restaurant wanting a diet coke and cookie. They asked me to pull into parking spot #1 and wait for my food. The car behind me pulled into parking lot #2, the car behind them pulled into parking lot #3 and then one car just pulled forward. After what felt like forever but was actually about four minutes, I say to my daughter, “You’d think after asking four cars to pull up you’d cook their food first and catch up.”

We cranked some tunes and waited longer. I saw a worker come out carrying a bag of food but he walked to the car next to us. Before I could open my mouth to complain to my daughter the guy in the car next to us starts yelling at this poor little minimum wage kid. I mean yelling. Our windows were up, it’s raining, we had music on and we can hear it all. I felt sorry for the kid who was getting the brunt of this man’s anger.

When we finally got our cookies, I smiled nicely at the gal, told her thanks and rolled my window up. It wasn’t like the five to six minutes wait was going to put us behind or ruin anything we had going on that day. We got our cookies out and they were so hot and literally melted in our mouths. Couldn’t have asked for anything better.

My daughter said, “So, the guy would rather have fast food that’s cold then freshly cooked and hot.”

I said, “I guess.” Then I went on to tell my daughter that I wasn’t much better then the guy next to us. I may not have yelled at the gal that brought our food but I complained just the same. I wondered if I would’ve still smiled and said thanks to the gal if the man next to me had not been so angry and yelled.

We get so busy sometimes that we forget to show compassion to people. Sometimes they become the object of our anger even when it’s not their fault. Our church motto is Loving People, Loving Jesus. When I told a friend about the incident, he jokingly said, “It’s way too hard to love people, lets just love Jesus.”

Sometimes, it feels that way, doesn’t it? It’s easy to sit in our houses, read our Bibles, and pray but when we walk outside and encounter others, the real work begins. Lets remember that Jesus loves us regardless of how we act and the mistakes we make so let’s love people regardless of how they act or the mistakes they make.

We love because he first loved us. Whoever claims to love yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen. 1 John 4:19

Leave a Reply

