Facing Goliath

I often wonder how Jesus even puts up with me. I know He and God sometimes sit up in heaven laughing at how much work I make the Holy Spirit do.

I was asked to speak in front of a group of people. That is the one thing that terrifies me the most. Statistics show that speaking in front of people is the number one fear even above death. It’s nice to know I’m not alone but it drives me crazy on how afraid I get. Give me three hundred kids and I’m fine but ten adults and I’m shaking in my boots.

Joyce Meyer has said to do it afraid. Beth Moore once said you may never get into your Promised Land if you’re too afraid to do what God is calling you to do.

I knew God was telling me to do it so I agreed. I knew it would be hard and scary. I believed I could do it through the help of the Holy Spirit. What’s funny is once I agree to something in the Spirit the flesh takes over. I start thinking of ways to get out of it and the roller coaster begins. One minute I’m excited to speak the next my stomach feels like I could puke. I could totally relate to Elijah when he was so pumped about God showing Himself then he wanted to die.

I began talking to my flesh, scolding it really. I said, “Dana, God spoke the world into existence, He parted the Red Sea, parted the Jordan, brought down the walls of Jericho, rained fire from Heaven, rose Jesus from the dead and you really think He can’t help you through a few minutes of speaking in front of people?” It was pretty pathetic when I think about it now but it was very real a few days ago.

I clung to a profound word a preacher said a few days before I had to speak. She explained that so many of us want to see a miracle. We want to see God conquer a Goliath only we don’t want to be a David and face it. But to see the miracle God wants to work in our lives, we have to face a Goliath. We have to come to a Red Sea and a Jordan River. We have to face the walls of Jericho.

It really hit home. We have to face these fears and allow God to work through us. We have to get out of the way and let the Spirit work. I did just that. I got up there and faced my Goliath. I did it afraid. My stomach was in knots but people said I did a good job and they said they couldn’t even tell I was nervous. I don’t know if that’s true or if I blessed anybody with my words but I do know I obeyed God and getting through it was as much of a miracle as David taking out Goliath with one stone.

If you want to see God work some miracles in your life then you will have to face some Goliaths.

Leave a Reply

