Your Tail is Hanging Out

I am a Mizzou fan. When we drive to the football games in Columbia we always see cars with the tiger tails hanging out of the trunk. I always wanted one so the last game we went to, I bought one. I love reasons to let my tail hang out.

Last Friday we were at my kids’s high school football game. We are also the Ozark High School Tigers. We won 58-21 so my son and I thought we’d put the tiger tail out to support the OHS Tigers.

We sat in the car listening to music, waiting for my daughter to be dismissed from the marching band. All of a sudden an older man and a high school boy tapped on our window.

We rolled the window down and the younger kid said, “You have a tail hanging out of your trunk. I wouldn’t want you to ruin it.”

The older gentleman smiled and added, “We weren’t sure if you knew.”

I grinned and said, “Yeah, we knew. We are Ozark Tigers on Friday night and Mizzou Tigers on Saturday.”

He looked confused, gave us a wave, and walked away. I looked at my son and said, “They are obviously not Mizzou fans.”

I began to wonder what they really thought was going on? Did they think we had some giant stuffed tiger in the trunk and I didn’t get the tail tucked in? Maybe he thought we had the tiger mascot. Regardless of what they thought, they didn’t judge us. They tried to help.

Mother Teresa said, “If you judge people, you have no time to love them.”

How many times have you walked by someone with their tail hanging out and you didn’t help because you came to a conclusion of what was going on, yet, in reality, you had no idea. You not only didn’t show them love but you missed an opportunity to minister.

When you see someone’s tail hanging out, it may be what you think but it may not be what you think, either way, lets just love.

2 thoughts on “Your Tail is Hanging Out

Leave a Reply

