New Year’s Resolution

As the New Year approaches many of you are starting your list of New Year resolutions.  Instead of resolutions, I prefer to spend some time thinking about the path God has me on, where He wants me to go and how am I getting there.  I ask myself, if over the last year, I got closer to His plan for my life and if not, what are some goals I can set this next year to see it happen.

As I drove to an appointment the other morning I was stuck in traffic.  We were at an on and off dead stop for over 30 minutes.  I began to think about the past year and the upcoming one and if I was getting closer to His plan for my life.

I watched cars pull onto the shoulder hoping to catch a glimpse of what was holding us up.  Other cars wouldn’t wait.  They cut across the center median or went through the ditch to take a different route.

I wonder which really takes longer, to sit it out or take a different route.  I mean, we could be seconds away from the lanes opening up.  When I’m ready to throw in the towel and attempt to go a different way we start to move, if ever so slightly.  All I needed was that little encouragement to reaffirm that we will be unstuck soon.

God’s path is so similar.  We are on the road towards His plan for our lives but there are times He makes us wait and we feel like we do when we’re stuck in traffic. We can’t see what’s blocking us or why we are stopped.  I often wonder what taking an alternate path does?  Do we miss the blessing?  Does it take longer? Were we seconds away from our breakthrough?

I find that when discouragement is overwhelming and I’m ready to go another route, God gives me a glimpse of His glory, some encouragement that keeps me on the road with my eyes on Him.  We never now how close that breakthrough is.

This year, lets stay the course.  Stay on the path God has set before you and don’t let anything veer you off.  Keep your eyes on Jesus and do whatever it takes to be closer to Him!

Have a blessed New Year!

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution

  1. We certainly do need to work to stay on God’s path for us. We need to seek Him to know what it is and how to go about it. In addition, there are times when we either take our own detours or God sends us on one to teach us or mold us to be more like Him. Thanks for the thought provoking post! Blessings to you in 2013!

Leave a Reply

