Always Take Your Purse

A few years back, one very chilly, drizzly day in March, I went in for my annual mammogram.  I changed into the thin cotton gown with two snaps in front.  I locked up all my stuff in the locker and took the key to the padlock into the waiting room.  Soon, I was taken back into the procedure room.  As I’m waiting, the fire alarm goes off.

My first thought is run to the locker to get my stuff, most importantly, my shirt and coat, so you can only imagine my shock when a nurse came in and said we couldn’t go to the lockers.  There might be a fire.  We had to get out of the building.

There we were.  A group of woman with only a thin cotton smock on as an entire building is emptying.  Sirens got louder as men in suits surrounded us.  I wanted to crawl in a hole as I stood, shivering.  I began to think how stupid it was to have locked everything up.  No purse.  No keys to drive home.  No phone to call someone to come get me.  No coat.  No shirt.

I figured we’d either freeze or die of embarrassment as the firemen searched the building but eventually we were allowed back inside.  It was a false alarm.

I was thinking about that yesterday as I went to my annual mammogram and the nurse told me to lock everything up.  I shook my head.  It doesn’t matter what anyone tells me, I always take my purse.

I began to think about how many times we lock Christ up in a locker and never expect a fire alarm to go off.  We walk out of the house unprepared.  We haven’t prayed, we haven’t studied or even thought about Jesus but we walk out anyway thinking we’re ready to tackle the day.  Only problem is, Satan is waiting to set that alarm off and then we end up trying to fight his attacks with nothing because we have nothing.  We’ve locked it in a locker.

In a large house there are articles not only of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay; some are for special purposes and some for common use.  Those who cleanse themselves from the latter will be instruments for special purposes, made holy, useful to the Master and prepared to do any good work.  2 Timothy 2:20-22  (NIV)

Let’s be instruments for special purposes.  Let’s be prepared.  Let’s always take our purse!

2 thoughts on “Always Take Your Purse

  1. Wow, that IS an experience. Enjoyed your post. Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

